Skip to main content

Disabling personalized menus

Personalized menus is a feature in Windows that has been around for a little while. It uses your program run history to hide all of the other programs in your Start Menu program listing that you don't use or don't use often. After a user has used his computer for a short while, Windows will hide all of the programs that the user does not run so that he can find his most frequently run programs more easily.

Personalized menus sound like a great feature, but really think about it. Why would you have programs in your Start Menu that you don't use? If there is a program that is installed and never used on my computer, I uninstall it. You don't need to be wasting your storage space with useless programs.

Additionally, I have had experience with some beginning computer users complaining that Windows deleted all of their programs because they are no longer showing up in the Start Menu programs listing. Well as you probably know, they are still listed; the user just didn't realize that if they click the down arrow, it will expand the Start Menu back to its original size so they can view all the programs.

When considering all of these issues with personalized menus, I can't see why you would want to have this feature enabled. Follow these steps to take back your computer:

1. Right-click the Start Menu and select Properties.

2. Click the bottom Customize button to bring up the Customize Classic Start Menu window.

3. Locate the Advanced Start Menu options box, and scroll down all the way to the
bottom.

4. You should now be able to see the Use Personalized Menus setting. Just uncheck the box to disable the feature.

5. Click OK to save your changes.

6. Click OK once more to close the Taskbar and Start Menu Properties window.

Now you will no longer have to deal with your programs disappearing. I highly recommend that you disable this feature on any beginner computer user's computer as well, to save yourself a headache explaining to them that Windows didn't really delete everything.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Using the quick boot feature of the BIOS

All systems initialize in more or less the same way. During the power on self-test mentioned earlier, the BIOS checks the hardware devices and counts the system memory. Out of all of the different types of system memory, the random access memory, better known as RAM, takes the longest to be counted. Counting the RAM takes time, and on a machine that has large amounts of RAM, this calculation can take several seconds. For example, a machine that has 512MB of RAM may take up to 3 seconds just to count the memory. On top of the RAM counting, a few other tests need to be done because your computer wants to make sure that all of the hardware in your computer is working properly. All of these system tests are not needed every time you boot, and can be turned off to save time. Most BIOS's offer a feature called quick boot. This feature will allow the user to turn off these tests. Other BIOSs only allow you to turn off the memory check, which will still cut down on a lot of time....

File and Folder Permissions

Windows XP Professional boxes running the NTFS file system have the capability to set indi vidual file permissions on both files and folders. File and folder permissions allow you to specify exactly who will be able to read, write, execute, and even list or access a folder. So, file and folder permissions can be a very powerful tool to protect your data from others' eyes. If your file system is FAT32, then you will not be able to set permissions. Fortunately, an easy way exists for you to convert your FAT32 file system to NTFS. Do a search in the Windows Help and Support Center for Convert to NTFS and you will be shown directions on how you can go about converting your drive's file system. Setting the permissions on with a lot of control requires you to disable simple file sharing and security. To do so, follow these steps: 1 . Open up any folder on your computer and expand the Tools menu and select Folder Options. 2 . Click the View tab and scroll to the bottom of the Adv...

Rapidshare Timelimit

Directions Rapidshare traces the users IP address to limit each user to a certain amount of downloading per day. To get around this, you need to show the rapidshare server, a different IP address. You can do this one of multiple ways. Requesting a new IP address from your ISP server. Here's how to do it in windows: 1. Click Start 2. Click run 3. In the run box type cmd.exe and click OK 4. When the command prompt opens type the following. ENTER after each new line. ipconfig /flushdns ipconfig /release ipconfig /renew exit 5. Erase your cookies in whatever browser you are using. 6. Try the rapidshare download again. Frequently you will be assigned a new IP address when this happens. Sometime you will, sometimes you will not. If you are on a fixed IP address, this method will not work. To be honest, I do not know how to do this in linux/unix/etc. If this works for you, you may want to save the above commands into a batch file, and just run it when you need it.