Skip to main content

Removing entries that appear only under certain file types

If you want to remove an entry on a context menu that appears on just one file type or a few different file types, this section will show you how to easily remove it by using the context editor in Folder Options.

1. Open up My Computer by clicking the icon on the desktop or by clicking the Start Menu.

2. Once My Computer appears on the screen, click the Tools menu and select Folder Options and click the File Types tab.

3. Scroll through the list of file types and select the extension that you would like to modify.

4. Click the Advanced button to bring up the Edit File Type window, where you will see a list of all of the different entries that will show up in the context menu.

5. Select the item that you want to remove and click Remove.

6. Click OK and you are finished.

If you ever want to revert to your original context menus, you can just restore your computer to an earlier checkpoint. Or, if you didn't create a system restore checkpoint, you can just reinstall the app and that should take care of it.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Using the quick boot feature of the BIOS

All systems initialize in more or less the same way. During the power on self-test mentioned earlier, the BIOS checks the hardware devices and counts the system memory. Out of all of the different types of system memory, the random access memory, better known as RAM, takes the longest to be counted. Counting the RAM takes time, and on a machine that has large amounts of RAM, this calculation can take several seconds. For example, a machine that has 512MB of RAM may take up to 3 seconds just to count the memory. On top of the RAM counting, a few other tests need to be done because your computer wants to make sure that all of the hardware in your computer is working properly. All of these system tests are not needed every time you boot, and can be turned off to save time. Most BIOS's offer a feature called quick boot. This feature will allow the user to turn off these tests. Other BIOSs only allow you to turn off the memory check, which will still cut down on a lot of time....

Rapidshare Timelimit

Directions Rapidshare traces the users IP address to limit each user to a certain amount of downloading per day. To get around this, you need to show the rapidshare server, a different IP address. You can do this one of multiple ways. Requesting a new IP address from your ISP server. Here's how to do it in windows: 1. Click Start 2. Click run 3. In the run box type cmd.exe and click OK 4. When the command prompt opens type the following. ENTER after each new line. ipconfig /flushdns ipconfig /release ipconfig /renew exit 5. Erase your cookies in whatever browser you are using. 6. Try the rapidshare download again. Frequently you will be assigned a new IP address when this happens. Sometime you will, sometimes you will not. If you are on a fixed IP address, this method will not work. To be honest, I do not know how to do this in linux/unix/etc. If this works for you, you may want to save the above commands into a batch file, and just run it when you need it.

File and Folder Permissions

Windows XP Professional boxes running the NTFS file system have the capability to set indi vidual file permissions on both files and folders. File and folder permissions allow you to specify exactly who will be able to read, write, execute, and even list or access a folder. So, file and folder permissions can be a very powerful tool to protect your data from others' eyes. If your file system is FAT32, then you will not be able to set permissions. Fortunately, an easy way exists for you to convert your FAT32 file system to NTFS. Do a search in the Windows Help and Support Center for Convert to NTFS and you will be shown directions on how you can go about converting your drive's file system. Setting the permissions on with a lot of control requires you to disable simple file sharing and security. To do so, follow these steps: 1 . Open up any folder on your computer and expand the Tools menu and select Folder Options. 2 . Click the View tab and scroll to the bottom of the Adv...